When PUSH comes to shove


Introducing…Rob De Niet
October 13, 2010, 4:06 pm
Filed under: Fashion | Tags: , , , , , ,

Rob De Niet is a bit of a fashion hero. His current claim to fashion fame is as Editor and Art Director of Velour Magazine – which is just one of his many projects. If anyone knows fashion – it’s this charming chap.

How would you describe your style?

1. Expensive

2. Really nice clothes with lovely details thrown together on an elegant scruffy person

3. When trying to describe me, someone once said “he looks a bit like a pirate”

4. More and more nowadays Lesbian Art teacher 

 

What does a normal working day for you consist of?

There is no ‘normal’ working day for me. The main reason for this is I seem to have ended up with quiet a few jobs, I’m a senior lecturer of fashion journalism at both UCA @Epsom and the London College of Fashion, I’m the editor and art director of Velour magazine, the art director of What magazine with legendary stylist Karen Binns, I do books and work on various projects, such as Pamphlet with James Anderson.

A normal day of teaching involves getting up and out of my flat as quick as possible, I live in London Bridge so I get the No1 bus and check my email on my iPad on the way to college. I then ramble at students all day, I keep on top of everything else when I get home… emails and any small bits of work which need to be done till 8.30 when I watch the daily show with Jon Stewart, I then carry on working till about 1 and then bath and bed.

If I’m not teaching, I get up a 9.30, make coffee, do emails then sit on my sofa (I hate working at any form of desk) and spend the whole day working till it’s time for Mr Stewart at 8.30. If I have to have any meetings I normally try to arrange them for mid afternoon or early evenings.

 

What other fashion magazines would you recommend?

I have a massive thing for magazines, my flat is full of them, infact I’ve got a reading room just for them. I’m a total collector. I’ve got a complete collection of i-D, The Face, Blitz, Pop, Arena Homme as well as so many others.

The magazines nowadays I love the most would have to be, A Magazine from Antwerp, Fantastic Man, 032c, Arena Homme Plus and Wonderland.

Fashion tip for the season?

1. Happy socks make every out fit better.

2. If you see someone in a main stream magazine wearing it, then you shouldn’t.

3. If you’ve read that’s something is ‘on trend’ then don’t wear it, be ‘off trend’.

Who would play you in a movie?

I would like to say Jude Law (Gattaca) or Terrance Stamp, but the truth – Christopher Walken or Nicolas Cage. Ohhh….. Sam Rockwell would maybe the most likely.

What’s your party trick?

When I was younger, I was very flexible and my party trick was to put legs over my shoulders and then walk on my hands. 

But now I’m older it’s either, the fact I’ve even turned up, as I don’t really go out any more, or that I can undo through whatever clothes their wearing, a woman’s bra in less than 5 seconds.

Who/What has been your greatest fashion influence?

What got me into fashion was being a skateboarder and selling Stüssy in a shop in Soho when I was 14.

When I was 15 I met Jean Paul Gaultier and had a long chat with him, which was an influence. After that the spirit and mind that is Vivienne Westwood.

Nowadays it’s people who question why things are the way they are, and with the answers they get, find they have to walk there own path.

If you owned a boutique, what would it be called?

DON’T EAT, BUY THIS!

What would it stock?

Complexgeometries

Christopher Nemith

Maison Martin Margiela

Happy socks

Joe casely-hayford

Bless

Margaret Howell

Dries Van Noten

Archive Vivienne Westwood

Archive Jean Paul Gaultier

Archive Richard Torry

Archive Yohji Yamamoto

Spanx t-shirts for men (which you can get and are amazing)

5 preview

Sibling

Raf Simons

Who’s your favourite designer and what do you love about them?

My first choice would have to be Philip Stark. I love that he’s a designer of every and any thing. I love multi-disciplinary designers because design is design and as a designer I think there isn’t any area I don’t think I could do good work in (and trust me I have worked in many different areas of design, and loved them all). I think he is a great example of this thinking.

I have to say Vivienne Westwood. I have a massive archive of her clothes. I love how wearing her clothes has the ability to effect my mood.

Joe Casely-Hayford – who wouldn’t want to look like that every single day.

I use to work for Zandra Rhodes. One thing I absolutely loved about her is that she says “if she’s not willing to wear her own designs then why should she expect other people too”, which is sentiment I totally agree with, how can a designer make clothes they wouldn’t want to wear.

Nike or Adidas?

I’ve just counted for you…Nike 30 pairs, Adidas 26 pairs, but I’m all time favorite trainer is the Adidas Superstar (shell toes). I’ve had sooooooo many pairs over the years, at the moment I’ve got them in white & snake skin, pink satin x 2, black & white x 2, white & black, white & navy and a pair of original Run DMC ones. I got my first pair in 1988 from Passenger on Beak Street, they were in white & red size 9.5 (I’ve only got size 6.5 feet) and I’ve always had a least one pair ever since. So I guess I’d have to say Adidas.

If you could have any accent other than your own, what would it be?

Either New York, French or LA valley girl.

Favourite quote:

There isn’t one, and they all sound very gloomy, which is funny as I’m quite an up beat person.

“The best laid plans of mice and men, gang aft agley.”

“No good deed goes un punished”

“Disappointment comes as no surprise”

In a nutshell your philosophy is:

Be distracted

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

ROB: I LOVE YOU, BASICALLY. And you do dress like a lesbian art teacher.

Comment by Amy




Leave a Reply

