When PUSH comes to shove


Finalist – Laura Gravestock
October 12, 2010, 12:16 pm
Filed under: Jewellery | Tags: , , ,

Describe your collection in 5 words:

Those who know me, know I’ll struggle to use only five words – but here goes: Opulent, bold, edgy, decadent and feminine!

 

What does a normal working day for you consist of?

I don’t really have a normal day at the moment, it changes on a daily basis – the only thing that’s consistent is it’s always busy!  It usually consists of checking and responding to emails – which fortunately I can do almost anywhere from my phone. Also I’m frequently popping to Hatton Garden to get supplies or sat at my bench making pieces, which somehow I find myself doing late into the evening regardless of how early I start!

Who/What inspires you?

I was lucky enough as a child to have moved abroad with my family, my childhood spent growing up amongst the diverse architecture and cultures of the Middle East and then rural Spain has had a huge influence on me and my work.

Where do you buy your jewellery from?

I love to get my jewellery from small boutiques and galleries where I can find really unique pieces – now I predominantly wear pieces from my own collections, but it doesn’t stop me exploring the gorgeous boutiques, even if I’m only window shopping!

Jewellery tip for the season?

I think stacking and layering will continue to be key, with pieces that can be worn together or individually to create different looks. This was important to me in creating my Promise collection, where both my rings and bangles give a striking contemporary look when worn individually or combine together for a truly luxe look.

Who’s your favourite jewellery designer and what do you love about them?

It’s very hard to pick only one, but I’ve always loved Alex Monroe’s work. He creates sumptuous yet wearable jewellery, which is what I aspire to. His much imitated peacock feather collection which is one of my favourites is fast becoming a design classic.

In a nutshell your philosophy is:

Create pieces that I love – and hopefully others will see the beauty in them too!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

