When PUSH comes to shove


Finalist – Emily Jones
October 12, 2010, 3:15 pm
Filed under: Jewellery | Tags: , , ,

Describe your collection in 5 words:

Contemporary, handmade, wearable cabinets of curiosty

What does a normal working day for you consist of?

Well I divide my time between managing an beautiful vintage shop called Tasty Vintage and my workshop making jewels. Most days include a lot of earl grey tea, radio 4 and creative thinking!

Who/What inspires you?

My main inspiration comes from the Victorian fascination with collecting and mourning ettiquette. I spent a lot of my university life in museums such as the John Soane and Pitt Rivers wishing I had been an explorer bringing back shrunken heads and strange sea creatures..I think I was born in the wrong time!

Where do you buy your jewellery from?

Absolutely anywhere, I enjoy buying jewellery when I am on holiday so it always holds memories and has a strong narrative. For example one of my treasures is a coral necklace from Singapore, also my tiny gold heart from the Modern Art Museum in New York and just recently some jet earrings from Whitby. 

Jewellery tip for the season?

Victoriana all the way! 

Who’s your favourite jewellery designer and what do you love about them?

Well I have far too many to list them all but at the moment I am coveting a piece of work from Comfort Station on Chesire Street and just recently I found Momocreature, who could resist a rabbit-head necklace or tiny gold axe earrings?

In a nutshell your philosophy is:
My philosophy is to create objects that allow the owner to contain and collect or tell their own narrative..Maybe I could buy them all back one day and make some bizzare collection out of that!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

