When PUSH comes to shove


How to do TRIBAL
April 28, 2010, 9:55 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I never thought I would write a ‘how to’ guide. But I feel I’m not alone with this problem.  Got the boho hair, the printed dress, the oversized bag…but not the shoes. An incomplete outfit – every girls worst nightmare. I’m particularly picky when it comes to shoes. I’ve never been a girl with a shoe obsession, or a girl who just buys shoes for the sake of it. When I decide I need a style, I look absolutely everywhere trying to find the perfect pair…and I won’t settle for anything but. Wrong colour, wrong fabric, wrong height etc…

So with my search for the perfect tribal shoe I decided to go online. At www.upperstreet.com you can design your own shoe…from scratch. So I thought surely that would be the answer to my tribal problem.

I like to think of myself as quite creative but with the choice available on the website I didn’t know where to start. I know what I like but I don’t know how to go about doing it. The step by step instructions were helpful, but I found myself playing on the website, making shoes similar to the shoes I already have – just because I could. The girls at Upper Street have catered for the indecisive shoppers like myself – There is a great ‘Inspiration section’ which made life so much easier.

I saw the kind of shoe I wanted ‘Gladiator’ but the colours weren’t quite right. There is however a button, a button you will never find in a shoe shop – ‘Customise‘. YES PLEASE! I got the style of shoe, changed a couple of the colours and skins and hey presto – the perfect shoe! It ended up at £220 for the perfect shoe! I had different skins, studs, straps – everything I like in a shoe!

I have to say – I’m now a happy tribal warrior!

www.upperstreet.com

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek how exciting is this!!????? wow. Just wow. Thank you for sharing x x x x

Comment by Anna @Evie George

What a great idea, love the styles!

Comment by lookingfabinyourforties




Leave a Reply

