When PUSH comes to shove


Summer Songs
April 27, 2010, 11:59 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

So last night I had a good idea for a blog post… yes and I’m going to tell you all about it. Last night the tube home was quite horrific. It was uber busy, and hot, and just quite unpleasant. At one point a man was so close his jacket zip imprinted on my face. NICE. However, I was happy as Larry… and I’m going to let you into a secret of why.

If you invest a small amount of time on YouTube, or even iTunes, this will make your day…maybe even your week.

With the wrong weather forecast last Sunday, our BBQ was cut short. We felt the need to remain in summer spirits so the picnic mat and bunting moved inside to decorate our lounge. Needing to fill a void in-between Britains Got (no) Talent and Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver, I was at a loss of what DVD to reach for until I caught eye of Zooey Deschanel on the cover of [500] Days of Summer. Summer in the title, 50s fashion, Joseph Gordon-Levitt to stare at… PERFECT.

 

If you haven’t seen it… you need it in your life. 

Getting to the point… the soundtrack of this film is immense. How often will you find a soundtrack with The Smiths, Carla Bruni (Mrs France) and Hall & Oates? On a miserable day, when your head is buried in the pillow, play this clip and I promise it will have you dancing on your bed.

  

If you enjoyed this, a friend of mine, Mr Benjamin Frost made a very very good playlist for me which is along those lines.

1. Imaginary Flights – Blue Roses

2. Skinny Love – Bon Iver

3. First Love – Emmy The Great

4. Your Protector – Fleet Foxes

5. Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right – Bob Dylan

6. Hallelujah – Jeff Buckley

7. Someday – The Strokes

8. Sweet Jane – The Velvet Underground

9. London Calling – The Clash

10. Song Away – Hockey

11. High and Dry – Radiohead

12. A Sunday Smile – Beirut

13. When I Go – Slow Club

This then brings me onto my current favourite summer topic – GLASTONBURY!

I’m so excited it gets me through every crushed tube ride because I know Summer + Music = Festival.

http://www.glastonburyfestivals.co.uk/line-up-poster/

And my favourite ever song will …hopefully…be played…

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

500 days of summer has the best soundtrack ever.

Comment by Eleni Christophis




Leave a Reply

